Candle Bearers

Candle bearers from the Erzgebirge, miner and angelAngels and miners were first portrayed together as light bearers in a painting of the miners’ guild altar in Annaberg’s town church, painted in 1520.
Inspired by this miners began to portray themselves as light bearers from the end of the 18th century, sometimes even as self portraits. As carved candle holders they were initially one-offs, which were produced by miners after work. This is how the typical wooden miner in mining uniform with his working tools holding candles in his outstretched arms came about.
Angels as candle bearers originated in the religious sector as bearers of the holy light. They were interwoven with Christmas customs by the angel of the annunciation who was once lowered from the church ceiling during Christmas nativity plays. The miner and angel were often designed as pairs, matching in size and design.

The demand for candle bearers rose when simple mining families were able to afford such a light source too due to the invention of the cheap stearin candle in the 19th century. Demand could no longer be met by the individual carving of single figures. As a result wooden candle bearers turned on a lathe appear in toy retailers’ catalogues and price lists from the mid-19th century. The first manufacturers in the Seiffen region included the toymaker Wilhelm Friedrich Füchtner (1844-1923), who was well-known for his nutcrackers.
Early candle bearers have a wooden body, their arms by contrast are made of a very fragile dough material, bread dough. This was produced out of fine wood shavings, rye flour, paper, powdered chalk and pearl glue and permanently coated and reinforced with paint to be able to bear the candle’s weight. It was only once mass production started that the arms were turned on a lathe too, which at the beginning were stabilised using wooden “struts” attached to the body. Special models were designed which were more elaborate for example the candle bearer that is holding a candle arch over its head or the miner or angel bell. The toymaker Albert Füchtner was the first to design the latter (1875-1953).

Separate regionally specific customs developed around the candle bearers. Every boy receives a miner once during his childhood and every girl gets an angel. These were placed in the window during Christmas. As a result, when walking through the towns and villages during Christmas you could clearly see how many boys and girls there were in the individual families. A custom that is still practised in many places today.

Kategorie: Formglaskugeln
Miner Candle Bearer It was mainly workshops in Seiffen that created these figures to hold the Christmas candles. Read more

Kategorie: Formglaskugeln
Angel Candle Bearer The creative model for the wood carved angel candle bearer probably was not the carved floating angel. Read more

Lichterfiguren

Erzgebirgische Lichterfiguren, Lichterbergmann und –engelErstmals wurden Engel und Bergmann als Lichtträger auf dem Gemälde des Knappschaftsaltars der Stadtkirche von Annaberg, gemalt 1520, zusammen dargestellt.
Davon inspiriert, begannen Bergleute sich selbst seit Ende des 18. Jahrhunderts, zum Teil sogar porträthaft, als Lichtträger darzustellen. Als geschnitzte Lichterfiguren waren sie zunächst Unikate, die in Feierabendarbeit durch die Bergleute entstanden. So entstand der typische Lichterbergmann aus Holz, in bergmännischer Uniform und mit seinem Arbeitsgerät.
Lichterengel haben ihren Ursprung im religiösen Bereich als Träger des göttlichen Lichtes. Mit dem Weihnachtsbrauchtum verwoben wurden sie durch den Verkündigungsengel, der in weihnachtlichen Krippenspielen einst von der Kirchendecke herabgelassen wurde. Lichterbergmann und Lichterengel waren oft in Größe und Gestaltung paarweise aufeinander abgestimmt.

Als sich im 19. Jahrhundert durch die Erfindung der billigen Stearinkerzen auch die einfachen Bergmannsfamilien eine solche Lichtquelle leisten konnten, stieg die Nachfrage an Lichterfiguren. Der Bedarf konnte nicht mehr durch individuelles Schnitzen der einzelnen Figuren gedeckt werden. Ab Mitte des 19. Jahrhunderts tauchen somit gedrechselte Lichterfiguren in Katalogen und Preislisten der Spielwarenhändler auf. Zu den ersten Herstellern im Seiffener Gebiet gehörte der Spielzeugmacher Wilhelm Friedrich Füchtner (1844-1923), der für seine Nussknacker bekannt wurde.
Frühe Lichterfiguren haben einen Holzkörper, ihre Arme bestehen dagegen aus einer leicht zerbrechlichen Teigmasse, dem Brotteig. Dieser wurde aus feinen Sägespänen, Roggenmehl, Papier, Schlämmkreide und Perlleim hergestellt und mit Farbe dauerhaft ummantelt und verstärkt um das Gewicht der Kerze tragen zu können. Erst mit dem Beginn der Massenanfertigung wurden auch die Arme gedrechselt, die zu Anfang mittels am Körper befestigter hölzerner „Streben“ stabilisiert wurden. Besondere Typen bereichern das Erscheinungsbild der Lichterfiguren, wie z.B. die Lichterfigur die einen Lichterbogen über dem Kopf hält oder der Glockenbergmann bzw. -engel. Letztere gestaltete erstmals der Spielzeugmacher Albert Füchtner (1875-1953).

Um die Lichterfiguren entwickelte sich auch ein eigenes regionalspezifisches Brauchtum. Jeder Junge erhielt einmal in seiner Kindheit einen Lichterbergmann und jedes Mädchen einen Lichterengel, die zur Weihnachtszeit ins Fenster gestellt wurden. So konnte man beim Gang durch die erzgebirgischen Städte und Dörfer in der Weihnachtszeit genau erkennen, wie viele Knaben und Mädchen es in den einzelnen Familien gab. Ein Brauch, der bis heute vielerorts gelebt wird.

Kategorie: Formglaskugeln
Lichterbergmann Vor allem Seiffener Werkstätten schufen diese Figuren als Träger der weihnachtlichen Kerzen weiterlesen

Kategorie: Formglaskugeln
Lichterengel Das gestalterische Vorbild für den gedrechselten Lichterengel war vermutlich nicht der geschnitzte Schwebeengel weiterlesen