Christmas

The festivities, date, name

Holy family, postcard

The heart of Christmas lies in the Christian belief that Jesus, the Son of God, was born as a person and saviour of mankind roughly 2,000 years ago.

It is integrated into the Christmas season of ecclesiastical and secular customs which start on the first Advent and last until February 2 (Candlemas). The actual Christmas period extends over three days, from December 24 – 26.

In the absence of accurate historical records, the day of Christ’s birth was only officially set in the 4th century. In the 4th century, the still young Roman Catholic church was in great competition with other cults and Germanic festive traditions whose main festive season with grand celebrations was held around December 25. The birth of Christ was chosen as a suitable occasion in its efforts to keep these popular festive dates but Christianise them.

Manufactory of nativity scenes at Türkheim, art design F. Menter

His birthday was finally placed on December 25 and was celebrated for the first time in Rome under Pope Liberius in the year 354. This date was in fact declared a dogma by Emperor Theodisius at the Council of Constantinople in 381. This day was appointed a public holiday under Emperor Justinian (483-565 AD).

December 24 is the evening before the actual Christmas Day, “Christmas Eve”, which is packed with lots of customs in Germany.

The German word for Christmas “Weihnachten” first appeared in 1180/90 where it was used in a poem written in Middle High German by the verse lyricist Spervogel d.Ä.: “ze wihenaht”.

Customs

Christmas Eve, Edmund Bruening 1888

Christmas essentially remained in a clerical setting until well into the 14th century. The development of Christmas customs in the craft guilds sector starts in the 15th century. The oldest mention of a decorated Christmas tree is handed down in a document from Sélestat (Schlettstadt) dating from 1521. The festival only triumphantly enters the private sector afterwards, increasingly since the 18th century. New Christmas customs and types of decorations predominantly develop in bourgeoisie and aristocratic circles, which finally merge into a coherent phenomenon in the 19th century and define “traditional German Christmas” to date.

As a result, Christmas transformed in the Biedermeier era starting at the beginning of the 19th century from a religious festival to a gift giving and family festival.
Today the gifts are given to children in Germany on the evening of December 24 as a symbolic act based on the gifts from the three wise men from the Orient, whilst earlier, up until around 1900, it was predominantly on St. Nicholas Day, December 6 or even on New Year’s Day that the gifts were distributed. Going to Christmas Mass together, the decorated Christmas tree around which all the family members gather and sing together before the gifts under it are distributed and the special Christmas meal have been a permanent component of the traditional Christmas since then. The specific regional and individual family Christmas customs that are passed down from generation to generation then complement this.

Das Weihnachtsfest

Festinhalt, Termin, Bezeichnung

Heilige Familie, Postkarte

Kerninhalt des Weihnachtsfestes im christlichen Glauben ist, dass vor etwa 2000 Jahren Jesus, der Sohn Gottes, als Mensch und Erlöser der Menschheit geboren wurde.

Es ist eingebunden in den Weihnachtsfestkreis des kirchlichen und weltlichen Brauchtums, welcher mit dem ersten Advent beginnt und bis zum 2. Februar (Maria Lichtmeß) dauert. Das eigentliche Weihnachtsfest erstreckt sich auf drei Tage, vom 24.12. bis 26.12.

Der Tag der Geburt Christi wurde in Ermangelung genauer historischer Aufzeichnungen erst im 4. Jahrhundert offiziell festgelegt. Im 4. Jahrhundert, stand die noch junge römisch-katholische Kirche unter starkem Konkurrenzdruck durch andere Kulte und germanische Festtraditionen, deren Hauptfesttage mit großen Feierlichkeiten rund um den 25. Dezember begangen wurden. Im Bemühen, diese populären Festtermine beizubehalten, sie aber zu christianisieren, wurde die Geburt Christi als geeigneter Anlass gewählt.

Die Krippenindustrie in Türkheim, Grafik F. Menter

Sein Geburtstag wurde schließlich auf den 25. Dezember gelegt und in Rom erstmals unter Papst Liberius im Jahr 354 gefeiert. Im Jahr 381 wurde durch Kaiser Theodosius auf dem Konzil in Konstantinopel diese Festlegung sogar zum Dogma erklärt. Unter Kaiser Justinian (483-565 n.Chr.) wurde dieser Tag zum gesetzlichen Feiertag ernannt.

Der 24. Dezember ist der Vorabend vor dem eigentlichen Weihnachtstag, der „Heilige Abend“, der in Deutschland mit vielerlei Brauchtum besetzt ist.

Das Wort „Weihnachten“ taucht erstmals im Jahr 1180/90 auf, wo es der Sangspruchdichter Spervogel d.Ä. in einem in mittelhochdeutsch verfassten Gedicht verwendete: ze wihenaht.

Brauchtum

Am Weihnachtsabend, Edmund Bruening 1888

Das Weihnachtsfest blieb bis ins 14. Jahrhundert im Wesentlichen im klerikalen Rahmen verhaftet. Im 15. Jahrhundert beginnt die Entwicklung von weihnachtlichen Brauchformen im zünftischem Bereich. Erst aus dem Jahr 1521 ist die älteste Erwähnung eines geschmückten Christbaumes in einem Dokument aus Sélestat (Schlettstadt) überliefert. Erst danach, verstärkt seit dem 18. Jahrhundert, setzt der Siegeszug des Festes auch im privaten Bereich ein. Vor allem in den bürgerlichen und aristokratischen Kreisen beginnen sich neue weihnachtliche Brauch- und Dekorationsformen zu entwickeln, die schließlich im 19. Jahrhundert zu einer geschlossenen Erscheinung zusammenwachsen und bis heute das „traditionelle deutsche Weihnachtsfest“ bestimmen.

So wandelte sich Weihnachten beginnend mit der Biedermeierzeit am Anfang des 19. Jahrhunderts, vom religiösen Fest zum Bescher- und Familienfest.
Heute findet in Deutschland am Abend des 24. Dezember die Bescherung für die Kinder als symbolhafte Handlung in Anlehnung an die Gaben der Weisen aus dem Morgenland statt, während früher, noch bis um 1900, vornehmlich am Nikolaustag, den 6. Dezember oder gar erst am Neujahrstag die Geschenke verteilt wurden. Der gemeinsame Gang zur Christmette, der geschmückte Weihnachtsbaum um den sich alle Familienmitglieder zum gemeinsamen Singen versammeln bevor die darunter liegenden Geschenke verteilt werden, und das besondere Weihnachtsessen gehören seitdem zum festen Bestandteil eines traditionellen Weihnachtsfestes. Als Ergänzung finden sich dann die regionalspezifischen oder individuellen familiären Weihnachtsbräuche, die von Generation zu Generation weitergegeben werden.